Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
U17 Girls All-Tournament Team

USL News Release

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

TAMPA, FLORIDA – United Soccer Leagues announced today the 2009 U17 Girls All-Tournament Team following the 11th version of the Super Y-League North American Finals held November 20-24 in Tampa, Florida. Launched in 2003, the U17 Girls Division has now held seven North American Finals events. This season the Cleveland Internationals claimed the U17 Girls Championship by defeating hometown side RSL Florida, 2-1 in the championship match on Tuesday, November 24 at Ed Radice Sports Complex in Tampa, Florida.

The title was the Internationals’ sixth overall Super Y-League Championship, which ranks first among girls clubs in SYL history and second overall behind the Chicago Magic (10). This was the team’s third Super Y-League title. The 1992-born Internationals first championed the U13 girls division during the 2005 season. They claimed their second title at the U15 level in 2007 before winning this season as U17s.

Name SYL Club Position
Audrey Bernier-Larose Ottawa  GK
Erica Keil TSF Academy GK
Juliana Libertin Cleveland D
Taylor Leach Cleveland D
Catherine Galgano Parsippany SC D
Miranda Dufresne Toronto  D
Jordan Johnson RSL D
Sarah Killion Ft. Wayne M
Sara Mira Plantation FC M
Meghan Andrew MPS Renegades M
Kristina Trujic Princeton SC M
Katherine Schmidt Cleveland M
Hailey Yondo Fire M
Jordan Pawlik Ft. Wayne F
Gabby Ransom Seacoast  F
Kelley Griffin Seacoast  F
Connor Zwetsch RSL F
Thea Linkfield RSL F
Rebecca Candler Cleveland F
Katherine Allen Cleveland F
The Internationals’ top players at the North American Finals included defenders Juliana Libertin and Rebecca Candler. The duo combined to allow just two goals in three group play matches before holding Seacoast United scoreless in their 5-0 semifinal win. Katherine Schmidt and Katherine Allen combined for three goals and three assists during the tournament for Cleveland.

RSL Florida had three players named to the All-Tournament Team in defender Jordan Johnson and forwards Connor Zwetsch and Thea Linkfeild. Linkfeild carried her team into the championship showdown with Cleveland by netting two goals in RSL’s 3-2 semifinal win over the Ft. Wayne Fever.

Zwetsch gave RSL an early second-half lead over Cleveland in the title game before Megan Gallagher and Allen scored the tying and go-ahead goals.

Ft. Wayne’s Jordan Pawlik was the only player in the tournament to receive four All-Tournament nominations – not shocking considering her goal output was two per game. Joining Pawlik on the All-Tournament Team is midfielder Sarah Killion.

The fourth semifinalist was Seacoast United, who had forwards Gabby Ransom and Kelley Griffin voted onto the All-Tournament Team. The pair combined for two goals and three assists for Seacoast, who allowed just a goal per game heading into the semifinal.








Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.