Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Boys SYL ODP Select Teams
Interview with Schulz Academy defender Greg Joseph

USL Press Release

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

TAMPA, FLORIDA – United Soccer Leagues its 2010 ’93, ’94 and ‘95/’96 boys Super Y-League (SYL) Select Teams today following the annual SYL ODP National Camps in Tampa, Florida.

“The U.S. National Team Staff Coaches showed unprecedented interest in our boys and at least three girls,” USL’s SYL ODP Coordinator Kate Thibault said. “USSF’s Roberto Lopez spoke extensively with the SYL ODP Camp’s Technical Director Dave Clarke following the boys camp. He was pleased with the high level of play at the camp. He discussed pulling a number of players from these camps directly into the U.S. Residency Programs.”

After winning two of the five boys’ tournaments at the SYL North American Finals in November, Schulz Academy (Boca Raton, Florida) had four players nominated to the SYL ODP Select Teams (Matthew Melguizovski, Troy Manheimer, Steven Oliveri and Michael Henderson). Henderson, a forward, was part of Schulz Academy’s U14 boys’ team that defeated the MPS Bulldogs (Boston, MA), 4-0, to claim the SYL title.

Also part of that team and the SYL ODP Camps was defender Greg Joseph.

“There was nonstop action in every minute of every game I played in the Super Y-League this season,” Joseph said. “We ended up winning the championship and I definitely enjoyed myself. The USL gives players in the U.S. and Canada a chance to develop and learn more about the beautiful game.”

The only other clubs to place four players on the SYL ODP Select Teams was Alliance Academy out of Grand Rapids, Michigan (Esteban Russell, Tariq Akeel, Michael Leone and Collier Landon) and the Northern Virginia Royals (Mikias Eticha, Aaron Etienne, Brice Colcombe, Brandon Livingston).

Northern Virginia also had NOVA FC defender Mohaned Zyoud named to the SYL ODP Select Team.

RSL Florida (Tampa, Florida), TSF Academy (Lincoln Park, New Jersey), West Pines United (Miami, Florida), the Ottawa Fury (Ontario, Canada) and Ironbound SC (Newark, New Jersey) all had three players named to the teams.

’93 Boys SYL ODP Select Team
    Esteban      Russell  F Alliance Academy
Alex  LaPalme M Atlanta Fire United
Nathan Byrd D Fort Wayne Fever
Nicholas Wysong M Kalamazoo Kingdom
Mikias Eticha M Northern Virginia Royals
Aaron Etienne M Northern Virginia Royals
Clay Clingerman D Orlando FC
Javier Reyes M Orlando FC
Cameron Davis F Ottawa Fury
Simon  Brown GK Ottawa Fury
Jamie Vazquez M Rage SC
Zachery Carles M Rage SC
Travis Jehs F RSL Florida
Jean Cenoble M RSL Florida
Kody  Parker GK RSL Florida
Matthew Melguizovski D Schulz Academy
Jeremy Witherspoon F TSF Academy
Larry Gonzalez M Westchester Flames

’94 Boys SYL ODP Select Team
Tariq Akeel M Alliance Academy
Wesley Schrock M Chicago Magic
Michael Bajza M HC United
Brandon Hanat GK Match Fit Chelsea Academy FC
Alexis Quijas M Mequon United
Nicolas Pascual-Leone M MPS Bulldogs
Austin Wilcox M MPS Portland Phoenix
Eric Lagg F NJ Rangers FC
Brice Colcombe F Northern Virginia Royals
Brandon Livingston F Northern Virginia Royals
Brian Costa M PDA
Troy Manheimer M Schulz Academy
Steven Oliveri M Schulz Academy
Michael Henderson F Schulz Academy
Hayden Gridley M Triangle FC
James Greco M TSF Academy

’95/’96 Boys SYL ODP Select Team

Rece Buckmaster F Fort Wayne Fever
Christopher Nash M Match Fit Chelsea Academy FC
Race Williams F Surrey WFC
Franky Martinez D TSF Academy
Darren Rios M West Pines United
Luis Arellano F Chicago Magic
Romario Bernard M West Pines United
Travis Nitti M Ironbound SC
Christopher Salazar M Ironbound SC
Michael Leone D Alliance Academy
Jonah Reinhart D Coquitlam Metro-Ford Soccer Club
Jordan Rollocks D Ottawa Fury
Tanner Tomasi D Nordic Soccer Club
Mohaned Zyoud  D NOVA FC
Jay McIntosh F Kalamazoo Kingdom
Kazari Trought F Ironbound SC
Landon Collier GK Alliance Academy


Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.